Protected Characteristics

Protected Characteristics

The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation.

The Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have.

Under the Equality Act, there are nine protected characteristics:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race –  including colour, nationality, ethnic or national origin
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity

No form of discrimination is tolerated at St Joseph’s Primary School and our pupils show respect for those who share the protected characteristics.

We do not teach about all the protected characteristics in every year group. The curriculum is planned and delivered so that our pupils develop age appropriate knowledge and understanding during their time at St Joseph’s Primary School in line with the teaching of the Catholic Church. Our RSHE scheme, Ten:Ten, explores the protected characteristics at an age appropriate level.

Equalities Policy Statement

TenTen Protected Characteristics Guidance

Each class has a clear overview of how they teach the protected characteristics across their curriculum. This ensures that children can see clear links between their learning in different subjects and the importance of equality.

Protected Characteristics Class Planner